What blockchain can do with a set-up box?
Posted by guo 2 months ago

There are quite a few set-up box in the market. Like Roku, Amazon FireTV, and quite a few Android TV based devices. Let's do a brainstorm about what features a set-up box can have if it has IoTeX technology?

// IOTX Points will be rewarded to the best answer!

101 Views4 Replies1 Subscriptions
Replies (4)

I'm not an IoT expert (at least in the retail products market - but I've got a couple of huge books in my iPad already 🤓)...yet one obvious thing that sure comes to my mind is logging into the blockchain which channels, programs, and for how long people watch them. We know there are companies (in Italy we have the Auditel company) that do collect this kind of data in order to provide "share" information (The percentage of viewers tuned on a channel in a time slot band), that is used for example to estimate marketing spots prices. This happens of course collecting data in a centralized way, then this data has to be somehow validated, and also doubts about the privacy arise (does the company know which device serial number is installed to whom TV?). The Auditel company in Italy installed 9500 collecting devices, monitoring a total of about 15k people (multiple people using the same tv are required to identify themselves pressing a specific button on the device, which could be integrated in the box software).

This is one application that surely would leverage the privacy feature of IoTeX, and could give more accurate data basing it on millions samples instead of several thousands (ideally, all the TVs could have one!) instead of a selected small number of selected people.

Hopefully I'll have a better idea tomorrow morning!

2 months ago(Updated 2 months ago)